"..won’t satisfy everyone’s tastes and wants. It is too small to do that and too smart to try." Boston Globe

Spontaneous night out at ImprovBoston

I just finished reading Tina Fey‘s memoir Bossypants, in which she recounts her hysterical memories of working for Chicago’s improv house: Second City. Improv was certainly on my mind last week when a group of girlfriends and I wanted to spend some time together, but had the energy to do something low-key, like a movie. In Cambridge, with so much at our disposal, I knew there had to be something a tad more eventful than seeing ‘The Vow.’ I was so excited when I reminded myself ImprovBoston is located in Central Square and receives rave reviews! My friends all light-up (or so I inferred from the ‘!!!’ in their text messages) at the idea of spending their Friday night at an improv show!

The show was hilarious, spontaneous! It was just what I needed on a Friday night; it was much better than an ever-predictable movie at the cinema. The show I attended was an ImprovBoston ‘MainStage‘ performance– a lovely cast of characters!

We reserved in advance and I am glad we did as the popular venue is intimate and seating is limited. They serve beer and wine at the box office. They have shows every night but Monday, with multiple shows a night Wednesday to Sunday.

Check them out today, laugh well, and stop by Brick & Mortar for a small plate and great drink!

Cheers,

Laurie

Posted by Laurie, Concierge at Hotel Veritas

Leave a Reply

