"..won’t satisfy everyone’s tastes and wants. It is too small to do that and too smart to try." Boston Globe

Miami takes a week-long vacation in Boston: part three

On Friday I had the day off and wanted to do a Spring-cleaning of my car. The interior needed a professional shampoo and vacuum, so I dropped it off at the CambridgeSide Galleria, and had about FOUR whole hours to kill. Four hours of shopping in the mall did not sound appealing on a gorgeous day, so I worked on my tan on the patio of the Cheesecake Factory and enjoyed one of their enormous salads that the chain is known for.  (I may or may not have indulged in a Well-Mannered Dirty Martini with blue cheese-stuffed olives.) After chatting for a bit with the lovely waitress – she and I discovered we have a few friends in common. She was kind enough to let me take an extremely leisurely lunch. I made sure to tip accordingly. Next I perused the three floors of shops in the Galleria Mall. I absolutely felt like I was on vacation.

A friend of mine at the Hotel Marlowe was kind enough to invite me to the Kathy Griffin show for that evening.  Newbury Street was a convenient place for us to grab dinner before the show, so we met at Stephanie’s On Newbury. It’s been a favorite of tourists and Bostonians for years now. We were able to score immediate seats on their patio (they don’t take outdoor reservations, and the wait is often 45 minutes or longer). I wanted a meal on the lighter side because the evening would conclude with dancing! So, I had Stephanie’s Classic Chunky Chicken Salad, which was just as good as I remembered it. If you’re in the South End, try their cozier, yet sophisticated sister restaurant, Stephi’s on Tremont.

Kathy Griffin performed at the Wilbur Theatre. She was just as outrageously inappropriate and funny as always. Afterwards, Guilt Nightclub was extremely fun – great music to dance to. What a fun-filled three days!

Posted by Jack, Concierge at Hotel Veritas

 

Leave a Reply

