"..won’t satisfy everyone’s tastes and wants. It is too small to do that and too smart to try." Boston Globe

Miami takes a week-long vacation in Boston: part one

Last week we had “unheard of” warm weather in Boston. It really felt like a tropical climate transplanted itself here for a week. Most days were in the 70s, and the temperature reached into the 80s once or twice. For me, this was heaven because I love the warm weather and almost everything associated with it. Even though I have always lived in New England, if I could eradicate the cold weather I would do so in a heartbeat (sans any catastrophic earth/environment implications, of course.)

I was able to leave work a bit early on Wednesday afternoon, and raced home to my apartment in South Boston. I immediately changed into flip flops and shorts – grabbed my iPod, headphones, and “up for anything” terrier, and together we walked 8 minutes to Carson Beach. I wouldn’t consider this a “destination beach,” but it’s so close. I think Rory and I were grinning the entire time. Couples, joggers, families, walkers, dog owners – everyone seemed to be taking advantage of the weather.

A few hours later I met a friend for dinner at Stella, one of my absolute favorite restaurants in the South End. They have a great cocktail list, good service, and unique décor for Boston (lots of white and stainless steel, similar to a place you would expect to see in Miami. The trendy lounge music adds to this idea). All of the food is quite good, but there are three absolutely delicious items I keep going back to: For an antipasto: Spicy Safron Mussels (pre-shelled, served with roasted red peppers and a toasted brioche on the side). For grilled pizze: Quattro Funghi (with truffle oil and fresh arugula). For le paste: the tagliatelle Bolognese.  My friend and I were able to dine alfresco. Try a glass of Italian white wine with these items, or a basil-lime gimlet. I’m already ready to go back.

Posted by Jack, Concierge at Hotel Veritas

Leave a Reply

