"..won’t satisfy everyone’s tastes and wants. It is too small to do that and too smart to try." Boston Globe

Not For Tourists: Cobble Stone Sidewalks

Yesterday morning my friends called at 8am to tell me they were unexpectedly in Boston for the day and hoped to meet up. I love when friends spontaneously come to town and want to tour Boston and catch up. Whenever I stroll the Freedom  Trail, my recollection of past guided Freedom Trail Tours come to mind.  I love walking around the Freedom Trail and having a wealth of knowledge and pride flood my mind.  I love being able to tell the story of the hanging tree, why we’ve maintained the old buildings instead of building new, and who’s physique is really on the Samuel Adams advertisement.

This time around, I joined my friends as they had finished touring the U.S.S. Constitution, Paul Revere’s House, Faneuil Hall and Old South Meeting House. They were ready to get off the beaten tourist path, so I took them to some of my favorite trails in Beacon Hill. They’re mouths were gaping as we traipsed down Charles Street, a street I regularly find every excuse to walk down. We headed up the incline towards Louisburg Square. When you walk to Louisburg Square you feel as though you are visiting Boston of yesteryear, with lavish townhouses and a park that will soon turn green. I kept my eyes open for the chance sighting of possibly the square’s most famous resident: John Kerry. We then navigated our way to charming, picturesque Acorn Street. Acorn Street always makes me smile, it’s so simple, so beautiful, so Boston.

While visiting Beacon Hill, we knew we were off the beaten tourist-track as we all needed to pay more attention to watch where we walked. Cobblestones are not friendly no matter what foot wear you wear!

To rest and refresh we enjoyed refreshing ice teas while people watching at Cafe Vanille.

It is no nice to pass time in a neighborhood seemingly unfazed by the changing times. Plan a leisurely jaunt through Beacon Hill next time you’re in the neighborhood!

Cheers,

Laurie

Posted by Laurie, Concierge at Hotel Veritas

Leave a Reply

